play phone device-mobile location2 search plus dash down_arrow cross chevron-down chevron-up chevron-left calendar device-camera
UNIT 1 HALES FARM, HIGH CROSS LANE, LITTLE CANFIELD, DUNMOW, ESSEX, CM6 1TQ
Telephone:
01371 872211 | 07342 381446

Customer reviews of Canfield Garage

At Canfield Garage we pride ourselves on the great service we provide to all of our customers. We understand that buying a car or van can be a daunting prospect, so we strive to make the buying process as simple and hassle-free as possible.

But don't just take our word for it, see what some of our customers have to say about us...

Write a review

Canfield Garage

Canfield Garage
5
4.5

Based on 35 customer reviews

Powered by


  • 5

    Nice car at a fair price.

    By John F on 31 March 2017 | Verified purchase

    Easy to deal with and no hard selling. Matt was responsive and provided a solid, nicely presented car at a fair price.


  • 5

    Outstanding service - highly recommend

    By Claire F on 03 March 2017 | Verified purchase

    Fantastic experience, owner of the garage was very helpful and was not once pushy. I would defiantly use Canfield Garage again - highly recommend to anyone.


  • 5

    Brilliant

    By Samantha J on 01 March 2017 | Verified purchase

    Brilliant to deal with very friendly and helpful.


  • 5

    Brilliant

    By Robert B on 10 July 2019 | Purchase not verified

    Second car from these guys in 3 years Again great experience and another great car They go the extra mile with customer service Highly recommend

    Reply from Canfield Garage on 30/07/19

    Hi Robert Thank you for your review and your business. Much appreciated


  • 5

    Wonderful! Helpful, patient and a pleasure to buy

    By Alistair G on 25 March 2019 | Purchase not verified

    My fiancée and I visited Canfield Garage over the weekend to purchase an Audi A5 Sportback. The garage were very helpful on the phone and I am pleased to say a pleasure from when we arrived. The car was ready to view and they were happy to give us as much time as we needed to have a good look at the car. When we wanted to take it out for a test drive that was no trouble at all either. After coming back, we decided to buy the car (it was a lovely example) and they made this process as seamless as possible. The team were also very patient while we sorted out insurance. This is the first car that my fianceé has purchased here and Canfield Garage made it a pleasure. Wonderful car, great service and a great price. Thank you so much.

    Reply from Canfield Garage on 04/04/19

    Hi Alistair Apologies for the late reply, but just wanted to say thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure dealing with you and glad we made your fiances first car purchase a good one. Thanks again Matt


  • 5

    Goes the extra mile with great service

    By Josh M on 13 December 2018 | Purchase not verified

    So after my clio decided to become useless, i was in a real rush to get a new car due to work comittments. That being said i didn't want to settle for just anything so i decided on a 2010 1.6D Volvo C30 R-Design. James was extremely helpful and went the extra mile by opening on a sunday which was the only day i could do. That being said there was no pressure to buy the car as he left me to take the car out with my dad. Furthermore, the car was MOT'd just days before i picked it up with a full service, new back tyres and a diesel filter replacement. A small engine diagnostic light issue was quickly rectified with the option of parts being shipped free of charge to my local garage if this re-occurs. I would recommend James and Canfield Garage because he puts the "family" back in family run buisness, with a well maintained stock of cars and an authentic and personal customer service. Thanks again!

    Reply from Canfield Garage on 15/12/18

    Hi Josh. Thank you for your review and your comments on James, it is much appreciated. Happy we could help. Enjoy the Volvo. Matt


  • 5

    Terrible customer service

    By Miss M on 03 October 2018 | Purchase not verified

    If I could leave a review with no stars I would, but unfortunately that is not an option. They sold me a car that broke down 2 miles away from the garage. I had my daughter in the car and when I called the owner he was very unhelpful. Eventually he told me to leave the car there, said he would have it repaired and delivered to us. It was delivered to us, but with a damaged mirror and cover for anchor point missing where it had been towed. After stating they would refund us £100 lost earnings for the time we'd wasted getting picked up from gt Dunmow this took weeks to materialise and we never received the part for the mirror we were promised. The whole thing was an absolute nightmare causing unnessecary stress.

    Reply from Canfield Garage on 04/10/18

    Hi You are absolutely correct, after purchasing your car you did have an issue. This unfortunately from time to time does happen. The car however did not break down as you claim, as you drove it back to the garage!! We fixed the fault within 48 hours and returned the car to you on that day as promised. I then also gave you £100 as good will for the inconvenience. (clearly now, i wish i had not). I also have a signature from you to prove the £4 mirror glass was delivered! So in summary, i am amazed that having your 11 year old 115,000 mile car fixed and returned in 48 hours plus £100 good will, in your eyes is a 'nightmare' 'terrible service experience'. This was also 5 months ago with no contact so the car has clearly been perfect since! Not bad service for a £2000 car in my opinion!


  • 5

    Exceptional Car

    By gary R on 25 September 2018 | Purchase not verified

    Second car I have purchased, I asked Canfield Garage to source a low mileage automatic car for my daughter. They exceeded my expectations by finding a car at a great price with only 11,000 miles and full main dealer service history. Thank you for a first class experience.

    Reply from Canfield Garage on 04/10/18

    Hi Gary Thank you for your review, much appreciated. Hope your daughter is enjoying the Peugeot. Matt


  • 5

    Excellent Car

    By Gary R on 25 September 2018 | Purchase not verified

    Excellent car, first class service. Given a good part exchange value for my car and arranged business finance at a competitive rate. MOT was carried out two weeks after purchase to maintain the anniversary date and passed with no advisories at a local reputable MOT station. Very knowledgeable staff, Thank you highly recommend.

    Reply from Canfield Garage on 04/10/18

    Hi Gary Thanks for the review. Enjoy the 335! Matt


  • 5

    Disappointing

    By Elaine W on 02 September 2018 | Purchase not verified

    While the initial experience with this garage was quite positive, I was misled with certain aspects of my purchase. A few weeks after buying the car, I started to hear an intermittent scraping noise and took it to my trusted local garage. After checking the car over it was found that the oil filter had not been changed for many years and the brake shoes and pads where completely worn, touching metal to metal. I was sold this car by Canfield Garage under the premise that it will have a service and it will be checked before collection. The book was stamped and dated (25th July 2018) as garage would do when servicing a vehicle. However, considering what was found by my local garage it seems highly unlikely a service was carried out. This now makes me wonder if the MOT, dated April 2018, is genuine considering the state of the brakes.

    Reply from Canfield Garage on 11/09/18

    Hi Elaine Really disappointed in the review if i'm honest. I understand cars go wrong and we may well miss things. However, all you needed to do was call us and we would have rectified any issues, i really do not understand why you would not make any contact with us at all, then have work done and leave a negative review. Oh and just to clarify, feel free to question the validity of the MOT, but we did not do the MOT, it was carried out before we even had the car in stock. So the fact an independent garage supposedly missed all of these issues and so did we is strange to me.